"Grand Vin de Bordeaux - Cru Bourgeois"

Introduction

A wine of character

The “signature” of the Château Biston Brillette terroir lies in even balance between the gravel terroirs and the marl-clay-limestone terroirs surrounding the village of Moulis. The finesse and elegance of wines from gravel soils and the strength and colour of wines from clayey-limestone soils combine to offer Château Biston Brillette his specificity.

Wines from the Château

Today the vineyard includes 26 hectares of vines balanced between the gravel soils and the clay-limestones terroirs with 50% of cabernet sauvignon and 50% of merlot. Since few years the cellars develops modern equipments to obtain full expression of the terroir and to give at Château Biston-Brillette and Château Biston a frank, elegant, modern and very entire style.

Terroir

Biston-Brillette, a typical Moulis terroir

The terroir of the Moulis appellation includes Pliocene gravel (type 1) near Bouqueyran, clayey-limestone soil from the Tertiary era near the market town, and middle-terrace glacial gravel (type 3) from Brillette to Maucaillou.

"Grand Vin de Bordeaux - Cru Bourgeois"

Préface

Un vin de caractère

La «signature» du terroir du Château Biston-Brillette à Moulis repose sur l’équilibre entre les terroirs de graves et les terroirs argilo-calcaires. La finesse et l’élégance des vins pour les graves, la force et la couleur pour les vins issus des sols argilo-calcaires, se marient pour offrir au Château Biston-Brillette sa typicité particulière.

Les Vins du Château

Aujourd’hui la propriété compte 26 hectares de vignes en appellation Moulis d’une moyenne d’âge de 20 ans, cultivés sur des terroirs graveleux et argilo calcaires, avec un encépagement constitué de 50% cabernet sauvignon et 50% merlot. Depuis quelques années, les chais ne cessent de se doter d’installations modernes et fonctionnelles qui permettent une expression de plus en plus précise du terroir et confèrent aux vins Château Biston-Brillette et Château Biston un style franc, racé, moderne et complet.

Le Terroir

Biston-Brillette, un terroir typique de Moulis

Moulis est une appellation dont le terroir compte des graves du Pliocène (type 1) vers Bouqueyran, des argilo-calcaires tertiaires, à la hauteur du bourg, ainsi que des graves glaciaires de la moyenne terrasse (type 3) de Brillette à Maucaillou.